May Check-In

This is a short update on both my resolutions and my life this month.

May was busy, but nice. We had two additional days off school (Labour Day and Ascension Day), but it was still a bit much. The weekends were “fully booked” and with two weeks of holidays ahead I’m looking forward to slowing down a bit soon.

The medicine I was prescribed for my thyroid is working quite well. My hormones are kind of back to normal – which is good news! So, I started working out again – small workouts but more often – until I fell ill again. It seems like my body just won’t let me have any exercise at all. It’s crazy. However, this morning I took the bike to work! Something I haven’t done at all since I started my new job in a new city. It’s an 8k ride (one way) and I just loved it. I’m sure we’ll see more of that in the few weeks left of the school year. 🙂 So, I’ve just decided that this will count as a workout, too, because spending an hour on my bike should count as one, even if its only for transport. 😉

Resolutions

  • reading: doing well – 36/50 books (my goodreads profile)
  • #take12trips: technically still 4/12: I went to two, (kind of) work related, thingies outside of town, we went to two birthday gatherings, on two nice (small) outdoor trips, but didn’t go on a “real” trip somewhere else. But I’m really looking forward to going to Iceland at the end of this week! ❤
  • workouts: 10 – which makes 34 so far this year.
  • taking care of myself: May was busy, but I think I did a fairly good job, staying on top of things. I fell ill, but stayed home immediately (well, who goes to work with a temperature almost qualifying as fever!?)

Things I’m loving lately

Food: We’re having quite a lot of salads at the moment. Perfect summer food!

Music: For half of the month I couldn’t get this out of my mind/ears. I really love the power and determination this song conveys.

Books: None of the books I read this month could really convince me. But I really like the Through the Language Glass, which I’m reading right now.

TV: I watched Embrace and I loved it. I also started watching almost finished the new season of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. Loved the pop culture and political references – and of course the wonderful absurdity of it all.

Acitivities: Today I re-discovered my love of going to work by bike.

Leave a Reply

